The Album

GLASS released their debut album “The Sound of Glass” on Saturday 16th of January 2010. It was released on their own label “Essence Recordings” with a catalogue number of ESS005.

The tracklisting is as follows:

1. Driftwood’s Daughter
2. Without
3. This Odyssey
4. Nothing in the World
5. When the Rain Falls
6. The Last Transmission
7. My Elan

It was recorded during November, December and January at The White Rooms, York and AKP Labs, York and produced by Dan Whiting and Alexander King.

All songs are written by Alexander King, published through Maori Music.

Alexander King – Vocals and guitars
Andy Curry – Synths and backing vocals
Jim Stafford – Bass
Dan Whiting – Drums

The album sleeve was designed by Jim Stafford, promotional material by Andy Curry. All photography by Lucy King.

How to purchase the album

The record is available to buy at all live shows, by mail order and through iTunes etc.

Mail Order

Simply send 5GBP via paypal to and include your delivery address. This price includes postage to any part of the world.

Digital Outlets

The album is available on all major streaming services, but bear in mind only a fraction of the price you pay gets to us.

If you want to buy the album in digital format, and have all the money go directly to us, with the benefit of the option of FLAC or other lossless formats, please use our BandCamp page.


Click below to read reviews of the album from the following magazines:

“GLASS create a diverse musical soundscape that will surely hook in dark alternative fans while managing to appease some of the ever-picky northern indie crowd.”
Sphere Magazine

“Not everyone is going to ‘get’ what GLASS are all about, but for anyone who does, this album will become a very inspiring theme-tune for their entire life.  Either way, you have to check out The Sound of Glass simply because it’s like nothing you’ve ever heard before and may never hear again.”
EGL Magazine

“Glass bring refreshing, new wave pop music to the York music scene, with poetic nature and elegance this sound is difficult to find in most places. Haunting vocals sit beautifully atop tight drums and simple bass, which build and climax with brilliant accuracy.”
PushToFire Magazine

“This album was inspired by the inventor from the 19th Century, Anthony Philip Glass. He apparently invented a machine that could transmit sound through time. This is quite an apt title for an album that actually sounds like it has fallen through time from an unspecified decade. ‘Driftwood’s Daughter’ kicks the album off in a crisp indie style, not particularly dark or alternative but good all the same. What is immediately apparent is what a great voice vocalist Alexander King has. ‘Without’ is a much darker track and the bands Post Punk influences become more apparent with a bit of White Lies thrown in for good measure. ‘This Odyssey’ is a rocking little number that is on your free covermount CD. ‘Nothing in the World’ is a track which starts quite sorrowful and then gradually builds into something much more powerful and rocky. The next track ‘When the Rain Falls’ is probably the darkest track on the album. Alexander gets a chance to show off his impressive vocal range with some intelligent lyrics and a catchy but emotional chorus. ‘The Last Transmission’ has a different feel in that it sounds like poetry set to music if that makes sense, and ‘My Elan’ sees the album end in a quite Punk/Deathrock fashion. This is a band that definitely has mainstream potential as well as alternative appeal, but still manages to pull off that tricky task of maintaining a style all of their own.”

– Mark Smith
Unscene Magazine